22 JUNE 2020 – National Flash Fiction Day



The deadline for the 2020 competition has been extended to 30 April.

Adult entry info on the competition page; youth entry details at fingers comma toes.

It is early April and time to get excited about National Flash Fiction Day — an online celebration coming in June!
But we’re also mindful of the changes we’re facing in these precarious times while Covid-19 is very much dominating the news and our lives, and so… we are hosting a series of online workshops/ discussions in the coming weeks.
The March discussions took place around Aotearoa New Zealand — and were so popular that we’re running a second set in April.
Watch this space for more updates. We’ll have dates and invitations to these free online workshops soon!
We wish everyone good health and inspired writing.
We hope there’s no stopping creativity in these precarious times, which means the online NFFD competition is still open for your submissions. You have until 30 April to submit — send your best 300 words to the NFFD comp!
How to enter: here.
The NFFD competition, which runs online each year, is an exciting way to share small but mighty works of fiction from around Aotearoa New Zealand, even as we are all on alert with the latest health updates around Covid-19.
If you are being careful about attending events, we urge you to take some quiet time and polish those small stories.
And for the YOUTH competition: Please note this has changed from previous years to a free competition for young writers, and open internationally. Please share the link about how to submit, and encourage young creatives to send their work to this year’s big international competition!
This month, we bring you an interview with the 2020 NFFD judges, Helen Heath and Sandra Arnold. Also, an interview with the journal fingers comma toes — now the host of the NFFD Youth Competition.



About National Flash Fiction Day

June 22 is our shortest day of the year — and the day we know and love as National Flash Fiction Day.

The competition this year runs February 15 – April 15. The 2019 judges are prize-winning poet Helen Heath and acclaimed novelist and flash fiction storyteller Sandra Arnold. More on the Competition page.

The youth competition moves in 2020 to an international competition with free entry — curated by the youth journal fingers comma toes.

The 2019 winners can be found here!

NFFD events usually take place in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Northland, Waikato and Wellington. We are in a holding pattern this year, watching news updaes to see how to run the best possible online competition and events to share and celebrate the small form.

Please watch this site as plans for the 2020 celebrations develop. We will still celebrate the national awards, regional awards, micro awards and more — watch this space for updates.

This year, we will also run the sixth annual Micro Madness series, in which 22 micros will be selected to share in June, leading up to our June 22 NFFD celebrations, and three winners will be announced June 20, 21 and 22. The judges of the 2020 Micro Madness competition are Anna Granger (NZ) and Marcelle Heath (US). Previous Micro Madness stories and winners can be found here; the 2016 Tiny Tales series is here.



Michelle Elvy (Dunedin)

James Norcliffe (Christchurch)

Vaughan Rapatahana (South Waikato)

Tina Shaw (Taupō)

Tracey Slaughter (Waikato)

Constance Talbot (Wellington)


Thank you for visiting this site. Please direct all questions to


Facebook / Twitter@NFFDNZ