National Flash Fiction Day

2024 Micro Madness

A micro a day, June 1 – 22


  • Micros up to 100 words.
  • Submissions accepted April 15-May 15.
  • No entry fee!
  • Submit up to 2 micros to
  • Paste your submission into the email window – no attachments.
  • Supply a bio up to 60 words.

Thank you and good luck!

How it works

22 micros will be selected by the judges and published, a micro a day, starting June 1, with the top 3 published on June 20, 21 and 22.

Judges read without knowledge of entrant names.

All decisions by judges are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

The 2024 judges

See an interview with them here!

Christopher Allen

Christopher Allen

Christopher Allen is the author of the flash fiction collection Other Household Toxins (Matter Press, 2018). His work has appeared in Flash Fiction America (Norton), The Best Small Fictions, and over 100 literary journals and anthologies. He has judged The Bath Flash Fiction Award, New Zealand’s Micro Madness, the Cambridge Flash Fiction Award, and the flash fiction portion of The Bridport Prize. Allen, a nomad, is the publisher and editor-in-chief of SmokeLong Quarterly.

Courtney Sina Meredith

Courtney Sina Meredith

Courtney Sina Meredith is the author of two poetry collections, two children’s books and one book of short stories. She has been the Honorary Fellow in Writing for the University of Iowa and the Young Alumna of the Year award by the University of Auckland in 2021. Her residencies and delegations include the Island Residency in Sitka, Alaska, delegate to the British Council as part of London’s cultural olympiad, the Bleibtreu Berlin residency, Queensland Poet in Residence and the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa. In 2019 she judged the Commonwealth Short Story Competition for Oceania. She is currently the Executive Director of RainbowYOUTH, Aotearoa’s leading organisation to support and empower rainbow+ youth and their whānau.

Past judges

Rose Collins

Ken Elkes

Grant Faulker

Kathy Fish

Frances Gapper

Nod Ghosh

Alison Glenny

Anna Granger

Marcelle Heath

Gail Ingram

Jac Jenkins

Heather McQuillan

Eileen Merriman

James Norcliffe

Mikaela Nyman

Meg Pokrass

Robert Scotellaro

Diane Simmons

Rachel Smith

Iona Winter

On the radio: Micro Madness on Standing Room Only

2015 judges Nod Ghosh and Eileen Merriman talk about the competition’s first year, featuring micros by Sally Houtman, Patrick Pink and Heather McQuillan

Listen here.

More Micro Madness

2024 Micro Madness

22 micros will be selected by the judges and published, a micro a day, starting June 1, with the top 3 published on June 20, 21 and 22.

2023 Micro Madness

Welcome to Micro Madness 2023! A free international competition of short stories, up to 100 words.

2022 Micro Madness

Because each story on the Micro Madness long list had something compelling and original, it was challenging to select just 3 winners, but eventually, after many readings, our top three emerged.