22 JUNE 2019 – National Flash Fiction Day

NFFD_Type_Quill_logoJune 22 is our shortest day of the year — and the day we know and love as National Flash Fiction Day.

The competition this year runs February 15 – April 15. The 2019 judges are prize-winning poet Siobhan Harvey and acclaimed novelist Lloyd Jones.

The youth category judges are the acclaimed children’s book writer Eirlys Hunter and award-winning poet and short fiction writer Gail Ingram.

The 2018 winners can be found here!

NFFD events will take place in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Northland and Wellington. Find an event near you to celebrate national awards, regional awards, micro awards, guest readers and more!

This year, we will also run the fifth annual Micro Madness series, in which 22 micros will be selected to share in June, leading up to our June 22 NFFD celebrations, and three winners will be announced June 20, 21 and 22. Previous Micro Madness stories and winners can be found here; the 2016 Tiny Tales series is here.



Margaret Cahill

Michelle Elvy

James Norcliffe

Martin Porter

Constance Talbot


Thank you for visiting this site. Please direct all questions to


Facebook / Twitter@NFFDNZ



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s