Welcome to National Flash

22 JUNE 2022 – National Flash Fiction Day

Kia ora and welcome to the 2022 celebration of flash fiction in Aotearoa New Zealand! Please go here to find out more about our Festival of Flash!

  • NFFD on FacebookLike our new page on Facebook between now and Sunday night and you will be entered in the BIG BOOK DRAW!
  • Find out awards and book draw recipients at the NFFD AWARDS NIGHT, concluding our all-day Festival of Flash: Sunday, 19 June 2022.
  • All events can be found at our NFFD site, and you can watch them live-streamed at the Flash Frontier YouTube site, here.

NFFD 2022 Festival of Flash flyer


June 22 is our shortest day of the year — and the day we know and love as National Flash Fiction Day. We began in 2012 and the celebration grows each year!

The 2022 judges for the national competition are the acclaimed Anne Kennedy and Kiri Piahana-Wong.

The youth competition is an international competition with free entry — guest judged in 2022 by Jack Remiel Cottrell and curated by the youth journal fingers comma toes.

More about this year’s judges can be found on the Competition page.

The 2021 winners can be found here.

The seventh annual Micro Madness series runs June 1-22. Micro Madness stories and winners can be found here; the 2016 Tiny Tales series is here.


Michelle Elvy (Dunedin)
James Norcliffe (Christchurch)
Vaughan Rapatahana (South Waikato)
Tina Shaw (Taupō)
Tracey Slaughter (Waikato)
Constance Talbot (Wellington)
Lola Elvy (youth chair, Dunedin)


Thank you for visiting this site. Please direct all questions to


Facebook / Twitter@NFFDNZ